Dark melodic psytrance

krelmatrix

Alright, I've been mostly out of the whole harder side of psy for awhile now, but I've found myself occasionally wanting hear (and getting asked to play) something in that style. However, I'm sick of hearing the same CDs and playing mostly the same set (with minor variations) I've been playing for the last 2 years.

I'm looking for somewhat recent psychedelic trance with a dark feel, but I am absolutely NOT talking about this whole unmelodic killagggrrrhh deathspeed-darktrance wave that is so damned popular now (that stuff bores me to tears). No clowntrance or guitar-laden metal trance. None of this AzaxIronSkaziPsychoticDerangoMadness sound. I like melodies, so I guess I'm looking for recommendations in the 140-145 bpm range with non-uplifting, brooding, slightly sinister or dark melodies. And overall smoothness and flow is a plus. A few examples of what I'm talking about are:

Xerox & Illumination - most of their recent X.I. album (especially "Ghost in the Machine", "Night Shift" and "Assimilation of Reality")

MFG - Shining Faces

Sandman - Holy Flip

For me, some of the seminal "dark" psychedelic trance tracks are "Panic in Paradise" by X-Dream, most of MFG's Project Genesis album and a couple tracks from Ofer's Pigs in Space album - "Visitors (Part 1)" being my favorite if I'm remembering correctly. Maybe this gives a bit of an idea of where I'm coming from.

Any ideas? Am I being too specific? ;)

BATTLE OF THE FUTURE BUDDHAS

OK maybe not the demonizer album, but twin sharkfins and their 1990's compilation appearances, as well as some of the less industrial tracks on the schlab compilations.

I think you should check out the track Paranoid Sensation, by Terminator and Dark Shire. It's on a compil called Yes or No. The end of this track might fit you very well!

I also agree on artists like Ka-Sol and Penta. Check out tracks like Penta - Lost in Space.

My recommendation would be:

Neoris - Last Mission Of Atomic Submarine