What are you guys using for basslines?

How do you make those fat basslines that you hear from for example FREq, Son Kite or Ticon? Those round but still electronic sounding ones.

Or the nice and round sub-basses? Any idea anyone? :D

I've used all sorts of things... Trilogy, Zeta, Absynth, ESM, Audiorealism Bassline, VB-1, Pentagon... it's all just a matter of tweaking until you get something you like.

yep.

Albino, Tau Pro, PlastiCZ. It's not what you use - it's how you use it. The bass never sound perfect "out of the box". You need to make it so using compressors, eq, distortion, whatever.

yep.

Albino, Tau Pro, PlastiCZ. It's not what you use - it's how you use it. The bass never sound perfect "out of the box". You need to make it so using compressors, eq, distortion, whatever.

565489[/snapback]

Teach me then :) I am used to do them with my Virus, and they sound good. But I am not too good with this software synths... leads and all that are fine, and I can do pretty fucked up eatstatic sounds, but basslines.... I am not the master of that yet :(

For that you need to know why a certain bass sounds good.

"fat" "round" "punchy" are all nice. but how does it translate into frequencies and dynamics of the bass? try to listen in a bassline what makes it fat. does it have high freqs? how fast does the filter envelope go?

when you understand how a good bass sounds - making it won't be that hard.

i use audiorealism bassline with waves Req compression, Rbass, Quadrafuzz and TC compressor. try getting the best sound out of the synth as much as u can. add subfrequencies if needed but not too much. a little distortion may also do the trick for that i use quadrafuzz which gives a nice punch. also use EQ very carefully , this is probably the most important part, to make it fit with the kick... finally the compression! i love the TC compressor!! but u may try many others, Waves C4 is also very nice... hope that helps-!!!!!