Need good recs!

ensign

Hello all, I'm new here, but have been sifting through the threads for a couple weeks or so (i can't stand when someone barges into a forum without first assessing the climate...i digress). I'm fairly new to the realm of psychedelic music, and like most Americans, I have had extremely little exposure nor access to it. My best friend, whose musical taste and mine have evolved along a very similar parallel, came across Shpongle while Kazaa'ing for new music, as we are constantly in search of something that sounds new/fresh/different. This was a few years ago, and it happened to coincide with a time in our lives when we were delving into the world of non-musical psychedelic cultivation. We found, as I'm sure many others have, that the heightened, or altered sense of awareness and reality conjured by Posford and Ram were in ways comparable to the "unsanity" brought on by our fungal friends. Since then, we've sought out more music that would produce these desired effects, to counter our move away from that stage in our lives. I've hunted down the Hallucinogen albums, which I do enjoy but not to the same extent as the Shpongle albums (I am eagerly awaiting the 3rd and final release). I had bought B.P. Empire a while ago, my first exposure to Infected Mushroom, but it was at a time before I could fully appreciate it. More recently I tracked down Classical Mushroom, of which I am ENORMOUS fan, and having listened to that can now enjoy BP Empire (although not to the same extent as CM). One of my most recent favorites was Younger Brother's Flock of Bleeps... the textures within that one song Crumblenaut are amazing. Forgive me if I am not falling entirely into the correct classification, but over the years I have had an extremely hard time differentiating specific genres, because within a single album, or even a single song, there could be movements of psytrance/ambient etc etc. I now have the Gathering en route, as well as X-Dream's Radio on its way.