Mastering on SoundForge

So i got a soundforge demo to test around

and i am still learning a few things on it. What i want to know, is how do i use the multi-band compressor. Should i put the Thereshold at -5db, and the gain at 0db? What about the channels by pass. Should i enable then?. Or should i disable the by pass and do the same setting on the others channel? Is there any guidelines or recomendable setting for a psytrance tune?

What is the RMS level. and how should i put the medium level?

and last but not least...is there any basics steps (or rules) i should do in order to properly master a track in SoundForge?

Off corse that this aplyes to the interface of sound forge, but any form of mastering tips will be welcome too :rolleyes:

If anybody could share me a light here, i would be very greatfull :)

Unless you have a perfect acoustic room and fresh ears i dont think you should master your tracks. Everything that you got wrong with the mix will just get a lot worst.

Just my 2 cents..

Otherwise, mastering in soundforge is just like in any other software.. You put the plugins in chain and do your best so it sounds better than it did before the mastering.

You have to put emphasis in the sounds that matter in your track during mastering, whatever it is.

Hopefully you got what i meant, im kinda drunk right now hehe..

o.k. a few things before i talk about mastering:

i agree with mike, before you even think of mastering, your mix will have to be good. concentrate on getting a good mix.

group mixing is a good way to get your mixes clean and upfront. so group your percussion tracks and bass tracks, compress, eq and maximize them. do the same thing with spheres and synths. on your master bus also have a compressor, maximizer etc...

it is very important to have a lot of presence in the mids and lower mids, this will insure that your production sounds good on a large sound system as well as on a cheap radio.

back on topic: