Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'October 2008'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Psynews Project Area
    • Psynews Projects discussion
  • Promotional Area
    • Artist News and Labels announcements
    • Party Announcement
    • Free Music Promotion
    • Visual Promotion
    • Interviews
    • DJ Promotion
  • Forums
    • Psynews.ORG
    • General Psytrance
    • Off Topic
    • Other Electronica
    • Music Making and Production/Industry
    • For Sale/ Trade
    • Lost Tracks
    • Parties & Travel Talk
    • Contest
  • Reviews
    • 2022 - 2024
    • 2021
    • 2020
    • 2019
    • 2018
    • 2017
    • 2016
    • 2015
    • 2014
    • 2013
    • 2012
    • 2011
    • 2010
    • 2009
    • 2008
    • 2007
    • 2006
    • 2005
    • 2004
    • 2003
    • 2002
    • 2001
    • 2000
    • 1999
    • 1998
    • 1997
    • 1996
    • 1995
    • 1990-1994

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start





Website URL







Found 2 results

  1. Artist: Various Title: New Blood II Label: Timecode Records Date: October, 2008 1. Principles of Flight - Oblivion 2. Artifakt Vs. Lost & Found - Checkmate 3. Rubix Qube - Enter the Dojo 4. Phyx - Freejack 5. Cybernetix - Root Complex 6. Tryambaka - Evil Mistress 7. EMP - Attack of the Moose 8. Tickets - Harpsicheek 9. Pitch Hikers - 40 Days Oh Timecode...why have you forsaken us? What is this new land we find ourselves in? It is in truth perplexing. Either we have been submerged into a cesspool of commercialism where the next buildup and drum fill is more epic than the last. Or we have descended into madness where once again melody is treated like the clap and atmosphere has all but evaporated. In truth I don't blame you Timecode, the once mighty label that forced imitators to their knees and rumbled the very Earth upon which they trod. I miss the post apocalyptic atmospheres, the rumbling bass, and the sinister melodies of what seems long ago. The label has now morphed into Sangoma Records and doesn't hold the same appeal. Shame. Rest assured that the window panes of my ample dwelling reverberate with furious anger from your releases. This is one such compilation. Oblivion- The mood is dark and eerie with a great POF track to open. Not a lot of melody, but power and fear can go a long way. Checkmate- Can a track be both funky and foreboding? *Alex Trebek enters* "A horse, sounds of torture, and a chess match play by play." What is the break room of my former employer on a Friday? This is a delectable groove and demands movement. Crazy dynamic collaboration between these two great artists. Enter the Dojo- more big beats and acid. This was more of a straight ahead beating rather than a track that attempts to tell a story. Use it accordingly. Freejack- This is another great, groovy track that will raise the blood pressure. Easy to get caught up in the swirl of acid. The only thing keeping it from legendary status was the buildup at the end. Root Complex- Machine humming sci-fi psychedelia that could've been more. Good, but left me wanting. Evil Mistress- Pounding soundtrack to a bad trip. Lovely. Attack of the Moose- is more high tempo, minor key madness. Quite the mover. Harpsicheek- This is Tickets taking psytrance to a place that it was won't to go. More involved full-on, but still heavy with the acid. Good stuff. 40 Days- I was getting ready to hit you with the meh shoulders, but then the 2nd half of the track happened. Man I miss the good old days of Timecode. Back when they and Nexus Media were at the forefront of dark melodic music. This is super stuff with power, acid, and moody atmospheres. Unfortunately they don't make 'em like this no more. Can't go wrong with this trip down memory lane. Timecode Bandcamp Beatspace Digital
  2. Artist: Han Solo Title: Hyper Reality Label: AP Records Date: October, 2008 1. Numbers 2. Delysid 3. Mutants 4. Hyper Reality 5. Lamat - Fenix (Han Solo Remix) 6. Infrasound 7. Smoke It 8. Wild Humans "One of the things you learn after years of dealing with drug people...is that you can turn your back on a person. But never...turn your back on a drug." What about a person on drugs? I ain't turnin' my back on this guy either. Hey wait a minute! I know this guy. Man he hasn't aged a day! He actually looks younger! Weird Science...classic 80s movie. In the spirit of the sh*t sandwich that was the new Star Wars movie I decided to tackle the album from a much younger and more Mexican Han Solo. I mean did you see Harrison Ford limping about on the set? I think they CGI'ed his walker out of the shot. Anyway this is Jose Mauricio Fernandez Galvez whose parents were apparently afraid all the good names would be taken so they loaded him up. Well all his names created a pretty good full-on album. Now I know it hasn't been cool to like full-on since 2002 and I've even piled on like the rest of you. And let's face it the genre has deserved it. But with this album there's a lot of development. Whether that translates into the "good" type of full-on I'll leave up to you, but I sure enjoyed it. It's not just straight ahead stuff (other than the machine gun bass line), but the kind of up-tempo cheese that is light hearted. There are samples in every track (many of them drug related) and if you're on the hunt for some darkness, turn away. This sh*t burns vampires. But it's supposed to, and it fulfills its mission of good time music. Layers abound and the whole production is very shiny. I will say that listening to this all the way through was exhausting. But I suppose if you ate like a fat f*ck over the holidays you need to have this on repeat. If that wasn't enough to satisfy your guilty pleasure you filthy animal, it asks the important questions. "Are there a lot of Dutch people in Amsterdam?" I dunno dude. I dunno. Beatspace Psyshop
  • Create New...