Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Electronic Evolution'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Psynews Project Area
    • Psynews Projects discussion
  • Promotional Area
    • Artist News and Labels announcements
    • Party Announcement
    • Free Music Promotion
    • Visual Promotion
    • Interviews
    • DJ Promotion
  • Forums
    • Psynews.ORG
    • General Psytrance
    • Off Topic
    • Other Electronica
    • Music Making and Production/Industry
    • For Sale/ Trade
    • Lost Tracks
    • Parties & Travel Talk
    • Contest
  • Reviews
    • 2022 - 2024
    • 2021
    • 2020
    • 2019
    • 2018
    • 2017
    • 2016
    • 2015
    • 2014
    • 2013
    • 2012
    • 2011
    • 2010
    • 2009
    • 2008
    • 2007
    • 2006
    • 2005
    • 2004
    • 2003
    • 2002
    • 2001
    • 2000
    • 1999
    • 1998
    • 1997
    • 1996
    • 1995
    • 1990-1994

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start





Website URL







Found 1 result

  1. Vertigo Records presents: Terrafractyl - Electronic Evolution Previews online here: http://www.vertigo-r...ronic-evolution Discogs Link Vertigo Store Link Information: Artist: Terrafractyl Title: Electronic Evolution Label:Vertigo records Cat. №: VERTIGOCD026 Release Date: March 2012 Style: Morning/Melodic Psytrance Cover Design: Lewis Smart Mastering: Felix Greenlees @ Fractal Studio Track list: 1.Precognition 2.vs. Positive Thought - The Power of Your Mind 3.No Matter 4.Electronic Evolution 5.Free Standing Pickles - The Dreamfields 6.A new level of Reality 7.Cab Calloway – The man from Harlem ( Terrafractyl RMX) 8.Our Eyes can Deceive Us 9.The Cluttered path 10.Clarity 11.Inner Peace 12.Everything is Perfect Always How does one follow up and improve upon perfection? That was the question I had asked myself about Terrafractyls 2nd album for the past few years, wondering just how the psychedelic maestro would warp my mind yet again. No easy task as 2009's "Chrysalis" was a groundbreaking melodic morning album that captured the true spirit and essence of psychedelia in one tidy package. Was there really room for a positive evolution whilst still keeping that same signature Terrafractyl style? It seems there most definitely was, as Electronic Evolution takes the original sound, refines it and spits it out in a bubbling, burbling, psychedelic masterpiece of a journey from start to finish. Track 1 - Precognition An understated introduction with hints of Chrysalis in its own intro, it takes on a rather precluding tone, hinting at things to come whilst remaining quiet throughout, gradually building as though preparing the mind for the journey at hand..Beautifully placed strings rise in character as a playful piano meanders its way through the mind.. You could call this the settling in track perhaps, or perhaps just the Precognition to something wonderful.. Track 2 - The Power Of Your Mind This track, a collaboration vs Positive Thought kicks off in what I would call typical Terrafractyl style. An unmistakably funky bassline drives the track along as rhythmic percussive elements fly left and right, at 2:20 or so the piano work starts and things really take off. Absolutely golden melodies floating on top of sweeping psychedelic pads with an analogue tinge that squeezes out latent psychedelic juices. If you aren't grinning or dancing like an idiot by the end of this you aren't alive. Track 3 - No Matter Funked Out. That is one of the best ways to describe this track. Perfectly placed samples swirl as incredible atmospheres and melodies are layered on top of a dancefloor destroying bassline. Brain stretching squelches top things off and the great use of samples make this a superb track. Track 04 - Electronic Evolution The title track of the album and one of my favourites. Full of life and analogue sounds amidst a rocking baseline. The main melody and squelches at 2:50 or so have me grinning ear to ear the first time I heard it and every time since.. It has everything I love about a Terrafractyl track and even includes a masterfully used Terence McKenna sample. Only makes me love it all the more. An absolutely incredible track. Track 05 - The Dreamfield Wow. This track blew my mind when I first heard part of it long ago, but hearing the whole 7 minutes is absolutely incredible. It has an extremely psychedelic almost "Talpa'ish"vibe to it and the drop at 3:25 will surely send the dancefloor into a frenzy…Just..Wow. Track 06 - A New Level of Reality Just when you thought it couldn't possibly get any better, it does. This track epitomises everything I could want in an "Electronic Evolution". Absolutely stellar melodies with some of the most mind bendingly psychedelic leads you will ever hear. This is probably the track I have listened to the most and I still can't get enough of it. Track 07 - The Man From Harlem (Terrafractyl Rmx) A rather nice short little interlude remix to break up the journey. Wonderful production and suits the mood perfectly, a great little addition that is funky indeed. Track 08 - Our Eyes Can Deceive Us Launched back into a bouncy bassline Our Eyes can Deceive us is a solid track that flows along quite nicely until some epic string sections come in around 3:20. Not the most psychedelic or squelchy track on the album but nice all the same. Track 09 - The Cluttered Path An absolutely stellar track that spews forth psychedelic bubbles from every orifice. Acidic sounds and analogue styled leads blend with mesmerising orchestral pads to create an absolutely incredible atmosphere and one of the best tracks on the album. Track 10 - Clarity A brief musical interlude, perhaps to give you a breather before the last two and possibly best tracks. Talk about saving the best for last. Better catch your breathe fast! Track 11 - Inner Peace "What should I do, should I meditate? Should I get rid of all my possessions?" "Are you kiddin!? If anything you should get more possessions! You don't even have a compuuuuuuuuter…" Starting with one of the best and most fitting samples Inner Peace reminds me slightly of an older track called Altered Planet in its various melodies and the way the track drives forward. A sudden key change at 3:32 sees a new direction and carries the track towards home while melody on top of melody builds into a wonderful psychedelic cacophony. Phenomenal. Track 12 - Everything is Perfect Always This… This track… This is how you do squelchy, funky, jazzy, atmospheric & melodic psytrance in 2012. The absolute best samples I have heard in a track for the longest time, combined with a pristine bassline and melodies that make me want to put it on for people who don't even like psytrance, but just good music in general. This whole album is like that, sure there are some typical psytrance moments, but for anyone that likes good, inspired, creative and incredibly melodic music this album is a must. This is as far removed from generic non inspired "full on" as you can get, and for that I hope it gets the recognition it deserves. A true masterpiece in every sense of the word..
  • Create New...