Im doing music... whats next?

Guest Radhasonic

Hi,

Im from Mexico city. Im a DJ and music producer with my friend. We have some tracks, and obviously we are growing up. The problem is that here (mexico) we have almost any chance to release because we have no labels. We wanna know how can a Label listen to us? How do we have a chance to release a track on a compilation to promote us? I hope somebody help us, couse here in Mexico this movement is growing fast, but no labels to give the oportunity. Thanks for the replies.

Guest soliptic

Mate, the scene is international and you shouldnt feel restricted to your own scene !

let me tell you a bit about my own situation which might cheer you up...

i am from the uk... altho the scene in the uk is fairly good, it is very patchy, and the region where i live have no scene at all really. therefore i dont know any label owners from where i live. i am a total nobody in the psytrance world, no contacts, no connections, no releases, no nothing.

well, i hit the internet and goto sites like www.psynews.org and www.ektoplazm.com/astralogue/ and look up labels ... and also hang around on forums and soulseek, and see if anyone posts a message saing "we're looking for new artists" (this does happen - i saw messages like this from com.pact, kagdila, ektoplazm, demon tea...)... then i visit their homepage... look for a "contact" address... put a demo cd in the post...

after doing this a few times i got emails from one guy in finland and two guys in canada. since then also a dj from france and a manager from the usa. all these guys have stayed in touch with me, given me advice on my demos, what to improve, what they like and dont like... really helpful...

and one label (american) has agreed to release a track on a comp cd later this year (kagdila - pure planet)...