Reason or Reaktor?

Guest snusnu

Hello there!!

Just wondering... I'm pretty new to the world of music making and the first idea that I had when reading reviews of softsynths was that Reaktor beat them all, hands down, yet I get the feeling that a LOT more people use Reason, NOT Reaktor.... So can anyone explain why Reaktor gets all the spotlights then?

SMI²LE

Guest Slidingtrancer

Reaktor is mainly a developers tool(correct me when I'm wrong) and its brilliant in its purpose... but very complex in structure if you haven't been familiar with synthesis from birth on!

Guest thesoul

reaktor is a sound synthesis tool; using which you can create endless haunting soundscapes;

as for reason; it's a self contained music production system;

and it's easy to get into;

therefore; for producing music; get reason;

and if you want to create sounds; get reaktor.

for a newbie; reason is tops though;

:-)

Guest DeeperNETWERK

Yeah, reaktor is a pretty extensive program that is definitly not for the beginner. You basically build your own synths, which is pretty cool. Which means you gott sit there for a long time and build one (or two, or three, etc...) before you can use it. If that looks kinda intimidating.... Look into Dynamo. It's reaktor with 30 or so... pre built synths. it's half the price, but once you get used to it... You can't build your own. That's when you gotta upgrade to Reaktor. I'd disregard Reason... and start with Cubase (if you have a PC) or Logic (if you have a mac). Skip the bullshit.

Guest snusnu

but but.. I thought Cubase and Logic were supposed to work WITH Reason and Reaktor, not replace them... Now I'm confused... can anyone explain further??

SMI²LE

Guest squirl magnet

Reason is for making music,

Reaktor is for making sounds

Cubase/Logic is for mixing the above 2 and many other programs along with recorded audio to make a final track.