What difference does it make?

and please, no stupid answers like " its clearer" or "it sounds better". I need technical reasons. Im very new at this and i have a budget lower than you can imagine.

Guest Skritch

I used to have a regular Soundblaster SB16 sound card, and I recently bought an Audigy Platinum. The difference was very noticable for me.

For example, a simple test of my setup would be to hit Record in my audio sampling program, but make no noise with my synths. Then, I would take the "silence" it recorded and make it twice as loud using an audio editing program. With the SB16, doing that created an audio file that had quiet hiss in it. With the Audigy Platinum, I have to double the volume of the "silence" sample four times before I can hear any noise (that's making the volume 16 times as loud).

Another thing that proved the importance of having a good sound card to me was the vocoder test. I ran a voice sample through a vocoder set to a short pulse wave, and used a low pitch to get a robot voice. With the SB16, what I would hear in my headphones on the vocoder (actually, a Novation Supernova 2) would be "clearer" than what got recorded on my computer. Once I got the Audigy Platinum, it sounded identical. The difference is that the Audigy has a better low-end sensitivity (down to 10Hz) and a better input sampler (up to 96kHz, where most only can do 44kHz maximum). The SB16 wasn't recording the lowest parts of the sounds, and what it did record was made "muddy" by its lesser-quality Analog-to-Digital chip.

Guest etherdesign