Artist: Ott (translated)

Cinos

Source: http://www.mandarin.nu (Swedish site)

Translated from Swedish to English by Cinos.

Hello Ott! Say hi to our readers!

- Hey! I'm Ott. : o ]

So what is your musical background? How come you started producing electronic music? And why exactly electronic?

- I started playing the drums when I was 13. My dad bought a drumset for me, and I terrorized the neighbours for about a year after that. Used to play along to The Specials and The Sex Pistols.

I've always liked electronic music because my mom was a dedicated fan of it. When I was growing up I listened to Walter [Wendy] Carlos and Kraftwerk, and the sounds always mesmerized me. When I was a kid, mom used to play Autobahn by Kraftwerk as a lullaby.

Then when I was 14 my mom gave me an offer I couldn't refuse; she told me that if I sold my drumset, she'd give me some extra money to buy a synth. So one rainy tuesday I went to Guildford, bought a Roland SH-101, and never left my room again.

You've been a part of the scene for a long time now. How do you feel about the way it's evolving? Are we on the way to something that could be called "better" for the music and the artists that create it, or are the happy days over?

- In all honesty I don't recognize anything I'd call a "scene". I'm not interested in scenes at all, it's kind of a superfluous concept to me.

How are you in the studio? Let's say you've just started a new track, where do you start? (drums, melodies, etc) What happens then? Are there any patterns in the way you work?

- It always starts with an idea. A melody or a harmonic concept that tickles my nerves. After that there's usually a rhythm, and the basslines follow naturally. That's as close to a pattern it ever gets.

Do you ever think about the listener when making music? Do you ever, for example, focus on giving the listener a certain feeling? Does this ever happen, or do you write your music on the fly, less concerned about the result?